top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndrew

6/27: Personal space not included


We didn't have class this morning, so I was able to sleep in a little then head over to my favorite coffee outpost - Blue Bottle. In getting there, the subway was jammed pack with people, so much so that I couldn't even get onto the first train. Fortunately, the trains come every THREE minutes and are always on time. I will never get over how fabulous the transit system is here. Once I managed to get on the train, we were packed in there like sardines; I've never been in a more crowded space in my life. Later in the day we travelled over to the Asakusa Shrine which was a wonderful cultural experience getting to witness the religious customs. Interestingly, there was row of vendor stalls leading up to the shrine selling various Japanese goods; I wouldn't have expected there to be a market associated with a religious site other than a gift shop. Afterwards, I ventured off from the group in search of a fine Japanese chef's knife. During my search, I came across a main street that was lined with kitchen supply stores - I was in heaven. All I have to say is good thing I have a small bag or else I might be coming home with a whole new kitchen!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page